Hills and Valleys

So that gigantic project I wrote about earlier got done on time (thank you, standardized tests, for giving me 4 hours to show a few movies to 6th period while I finished it up!).  I even managed to get a 100% on the thing.  My professor seemed impressed with some of my media-related lessons (we’ve been watching a lot of Rob & Big in class lately), which makes me feel like I might actually be good at this job some day.

Those aforementioned standardized tests are throwing everything off schedule-wise at school this week and next.  And while I’m happy to watch O Brother,  Where Art Thou? in class, it’s still frustrating to feel more like a babysitter than a teacher.

Some good news: one of my 9th graders is getting recognized as student of the year (or something) for English.  All I had to do was nominate her via email.  Either my nomination was very persuasive, or I was the only teacher in the grade who found the time to go to the trouble.  Either way, I’m proud of her.  My 10th grade nominee looks promising, too.  I’d look like a pretty swell teacher if both grades had someone from my class win some award.

I found out this week that I’m teaching 9th and 10th grade again next year.  I was gunning for 11th grade.  I wanted to try out older students, and I pretty much love all of the 10th graders I have this year.  Also, I love the opportunity to concentrate on American literature.  Alas, the higher-ups had different plans for me, I guess.  On the bright side, it’ll be nice to get a fresh batch of students coming in from middle school with no knowledge of what a pushover I’ve been this year, and I’ve got a really good co-teacher to work with.

I took my little sister to the school’s battle of the bands tonight.  Nerdy Weezer-covering band only managed third place, while typical Nickelback-esque dude rock band took the top prize.  Translation: Mr. Harding’s gonna have to get on that judge’s panel next year.

Leave a Reply

