Film Club 09

Last year, I proposed a Film Appreciation Club to my principal.  Between a regime change and an adjustment to our school schedule, I didn’t get it rolling until October as an Friday-after-school activity.

 

The vibe was extremely casual.  Attendance ranged everywhere from 4 to 20 students.  We typically watched half a movie one week and finished it the next. I didn’t have much of goal outside of showing interesting movies to kids and trying to point out just why they’re interesting.

 

We had our last meeting today.  With my doing yearbook next year, I’m not sure I’ll be able to make the committment to the club next year, but I’ve sure had a good time so far.  Here’s a list of the movies (that I can remember, at least) we’ve watched together:

 

  • The Thing (1982)
  • Barton Fink
  • The Set-Up
  • Project Grizzly
  • Sullivan’s Travels
  • Do the Right Thing
  • Dr. Strangelove
  • Bottle Rocket
  • Sweet and Lowdown
  • The Apartment
  • La Strada
  • The Hudsucker Proxy
  • A Fish Called Wanda
One response to “Film Club 09

  1. TO: Young, idealistic, faculty advisor-type
    FM: The Voice of Experience

    You’re doing the YEARBOOK next year? Ha ha ha ha ha . . . Say “goodbye” to your life. Get out NOW, while you still can. . .

Leave a Reply

