You Remind Me of a Song

Some students’ names–based on their meter–instantly remind me of certain melodies.  I have no idea if I’m alone on this or not, but certain names trigger tunes in my head, without fail.

Need some examples?  Of course you do:

 

Type of name: 2 syllable first name; 2 syllable last name

Imaginary examples: Tyler Thomas; Wendy Puckett

Reminds me of: “Let’s go, Thrashers. [clap] [clap] [clap clap clap]

 

Type of name: 2 syllable first name; 1 syllable last name

Imaginary examples: Johnny Clark, Sammy Post

Reminds me of: The “rolling start” intro of Sega Saturn’s Daytona USA

 

Type of name: 3 syllable first names (usually with a soft ‘ah’ sound in the middle)

Imaginary example: Shwanna

Reminds me of: John Linnell’s “Nevada”

This link should work!

Of course, the accents have to fall on the right syllables, but stuff like this makes passing back their papers a non-stop melody in my big dumb head.

Leave a Reply

